top of page
  • Writer's pictureabigailulett

Who's Turkey Tryna Scramble?


Who wants delicious recipes, and does not care if my photography is not great?? Because that is about all you are going to get. BUT... this turkey scramble recipe is so easy and so yummy, so I thought I would share.


I am a bit of a health fanatic, but also devour ice cream, cookies, and nachos like no other. I pick and choose my battles. Anyway, here is one of my favorite weeknight dinners that I don't feel guilty eating: Turkey scramble with roasted sweet potatoes and asparagus.



I LOVE ground turkey!!! Eat it all the time. So this recipe starts with:

  • 1 lb of lean ground turkey meat

  • 1 (14.5oz) can diced tomatoes

  • 1 bell pepper (any color) I used orange in the picture above

  • 2-3 cups spinach

  • 1 white onion.

Then I use about 2-3 small sweet potatoes, and some asparagus.

The spices I used are:

  • garlic powder

  • basil leaves

  • chili powder

  • sea salt

  • ground black pepper

  • cayenne

  • extra virgin olive oil.


Directions:


For the scramble:

This recipe takes basically no time to whip up, which is a huge bonus! I start by dicing the onion and throwing it in the pan with a little bit of olive oil. once they are soft, I throw in the ground turkey and start letting it brown. Once the meat is cooked up I will throw in the bell pepper and can of diced tomatoes and start cooking that along with the meat. You may need to drain the pan a bit before adding the tomatoes, depending on how much juice there is. At this time I start seasoning, I eyeball everything so I could not tell you at all how much to add. Just throw it all in there according to your own taste. Sorry I am NOT a chef, so good luck!!! Once I feel it is all combined I toss in a generous amount of spinach and let that sauté down. And that's it!!! Super easy. I like to top it with some mozzarella cheese and avocado, YUM!

Okay for the sweet potatoes:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Cube the potatoes and in a mixing bowl combine them with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Then place on foil on top of a pan (makes clean up super easy) and roast for 20 minutes, then stir, and then add another 10-15 minutes. You will know they are done when you can slip the fork through easily.

For the Asparagus:

I still use a 450 degree oven, so really simple to cook at the same time as the potatoes. But asparagus takes a LOT less time to cook, so I will throw them in the last 10 minutes of cook time. I make sure to cut the bottom ends off the asparagus because they are very hard and not super edible. Then I place them on foil on a pan (same way as potatoes) and drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Next I will use my hands to make sure the oil and seasoning cover the entire asparagus. Throw them in the over for 10-12 minutes. I like the tips extra crispy so I pull them out when they look a bit more well done.

And Voila!!!! That's it!!! Hope you enjoy!!!


XOXO, Abby


25 views0 comments
bottom of page